top of page

deacons & elders


As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament church provided persons with particular gifts to share in discernment of God’s Spirit and governance of God’s people. Accordingly, congregations should elect persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, having demonstrated skills in leadership and being compassionate in spirit. Ruling elders are so named not because they “lord it over” the congregation (Matt. 20:25), but because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government ,spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships. When elected by the congregation, they shall serve faithfully as members of the session. When elected as commissioners to higher councils, ruling elders participate and vote with the same authority as teaching elders, and they are eligible for any office.


Class of 2022

Jack Baxter

Gloria Dale

Martha Jones

Lee Maddox

Julia West

Class of 2023

Dorothy Duncan

Dan Garman

Michael McAlister

Jim Ross

Dawn Taylor

Class of 2024

Mary Beth Cotham

Tony Khim

Ed Lancaster

Craig Lorch

Paula Thomas


2020-2021 Committee Chairs

Clerk of Session-Gloria Dale

Treasurer-Patsy Bridges

Property-Julia West

Personnel-Jack Baxter

Membership/Evangelism-Martha Jones

Worship-Paula Thomas

Christian Education-Jean Mac Ball

Fellowship-Dorothy Duncan

Youth Fellowship-Dawn Taylor

Mission-Dan Garman





The office of deacon as set forth in scripture is one of sympathy, witness and service after the example of Jesus Christ. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, of exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, warm sympathies, and sound judgment should be chosen for this office. It is the duty of the deacons, first of all, to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress both within and beyond the community of faith. They shall assume other duties as may be delegated to them from time to time by the session, such as leading the people in worship through prayers of intersession, reading the Scriptures, presenting the gifts of the people, and assisting with the Lord’s Supper.


Board of Deacons

Class of 2022

Erin Hedrick

Raven Martin

Kristi Martin

Alan Phillips

Jenny Sloan

Class of 2023

Janice English

Houston Jameson

Zack Maddux

Sharon Shaw

Joann Lorch

Class of 2024

Brian Allred

Jessica Elam

Bill Handy

Lynne Hendrickson

Katie Ledbetter




Vice Chair-

Recording Secretary-

Corresponding Secretary-


Newsletter Correspondent-






bottom of page